University of Queensland

University of Queensland

Skilled And Motivated Teachers Are Integral To Providing Positive Teaching And Learning Outcomes For Students.

The University of Queensland (UQ) is one of Australia’s leading research and teaching institutions. We strive for excellence through the creation, preservation, transfer and application of knowledge. For more than a century, we have educated and worked with outstanding people to deliver knowledge leadership for a better world.

UQ has a strong focus on teaching excellence, having won more Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) than any other in the country and attracting the majority of Queensland’s highest academic achievers, as well as top interstate and overseas students.


University Details

Motto “By means of knowledge and hard work”
Type Public research university
Established 1909
Chancellor Peter Varghese
Vice-Chancellor Deborah Terry
Academic staff 2,854
Undergraduates 35,051
Location Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Campus Multiple sites
Colours Purple
Athletics Algoma Thunderbirds
Affiliations Group of Eight, niversitas 21, ASAIHL, EdX


Established through a 1909 Act of State Parliament, The University of Queensland was the first university in the state and was officially founded on April 16, 1910, with the gazettal of appointments to the first UQ Senate. Teaching started in 1911 in Old Government House in George Street, Brisbane. In the first year there were three faculties – Arts, Science and Engineering – and 83 students (60 men and 23 women).

After World War I, the University expanded rapidly and soon outgrew its inner-city location. In 1922, an additional site in Victoria Park (now occupied by the Medical School) was secured. Four years later, Dr James O’Neil Mayne and his sister Miss Mary Emelia Mayne provided funds to buy the St Lucia site where the University’s main campus is now located. Construction started on the St Lucia site in 1937 and the first building, later named the Forgan Smith Building after the Premier of the day, was completed in 1939. During World War II, it became the advanced headquarters for the Allied Land Forces in the South West Pacific.

Available Transfer Pathways:

Engineering Programs: (2+2 Pathways)

  • Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Civil
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Electrical
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Mechanical

(1+3 Pathways)

  • Bachelor of Engineering(Hons) Mechatronics

Business Programs: (1+2 Pathways)

  • Bachelor of Business Management
  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Bachelor of Economics

Information Technology (1+2 Pathways)

  • Bachelor of Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Information Technology